Warrant Officers 


Commissioned Officers are distinguished from other officers by their commission, which is the formal written authority, issued in the name of the President of the United States, that confers the rank and authority of a Marine Officer. Commissioned officers carry the "special trust and confidence" of the President of the United States.

Commissioned Officer Rank Structure
General (Gen) Lieutenant General (LtGen) Major General (MajGen) Brigadier General (BGen)
O-10 O-9 O-8 O-7
Field-grade Officers
Colonel (Col) Lieutenant Colonel (LtCol) Major (Maj)
O-6 O-5 O-4
Company-grade Officers
Captain (Capt) First Lieutenant (1stLt) Second Lieutenant (2ndLt)
O-3 O-2 O-1